IT DOES GET BETTER!

Ok, so not too long ago my life and direction changed drastically.  During this period of change there were many instances of frustration and worry and dispair.  However, I was DETERMINED and MOTIVATED and had the HEART to alter the direction my life was headed and steer it in a more positive and fulfilling course.

The reason for posting this now is partly inspired by my “I wish…. ” project, as well as the ItGetsBetter project started by Dan Savage.  The ItGetsBetter project is an effort to prevent suicide among GLBT youth like the recently deceased Billy Lucas who comitted suicide; and to  show young GLBT people that there is hope, and things DO get better.  I’ll be posting my “ItGetsBetter” video response very soon.  In the meantime check out some of the amazing stories posted already.    http://www.youtube.com/user/itgetsbetterproject#p/f/0/7IcVyvg2Qlo

What I learned, I learned by listening to my heart and coming to the realization that ONLY I COULD MAKE MYSELF HAPPY!  No one else could (or should) bear that responsibility.  It was up to me and the effort I was willing to put into myself that led me on the path to personal discovery and the road to happiness.

I want to encourage  you to look at any dreams you have not fulfilled in your life; goals you may have set but never realized; or simply the direction your life is headed and if you have the determination, motivation and heart…. take a chance and go for it!  Now, I’m not saying to quit your day-job to try out for American Idol, but if you enjoy singing, join your churches choir.  If you always wanted to run in a marathon, start training even 30 minutes each day.  If you want to change your career, start taking a night class, or online classes.

Only I can make the biggest difference in my life.  I really like this equation….. It adds up!!!  Oh, and it really DOES get better!!!

Smile, be who you are, and share some love! You’re amazing just the way you are!!!

-Stuart

~ by stuart on September 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “IT DOES GET BETTER!”

  1. Stuart,

    Good for you! Only you can make the changes but we can all support one another.

    T

  2. You have no idea how good it’s going to get, stud….

  3. My Stuart you have an admirer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
